New Releases

Richmond Fontaine – Thirteen Cities

Richmond Fontaine have scheduled the release of their new album “Thirteen Cities” for February/March 2007. The album was produced once again by JD Foster (Foster also produced the 2005 release “The Fitzgerald”). Foster has worked in the past with the likes of Calexico & Richard Buckner.

The new album is said to be more upbeat than the near acoustic outing of the previous album. Songwriter & vocalist Willie Vlautin describes the new sound as being more “like a soundtrack”. The album was recorded at the Wavelab Studio in Tucson Arizona by Foster with the help of studio owner Craig Schumacher.

The line up of the band is the same as “The Fitzgerald” with Vlautin on vocals & guitar plus Sean Oldham (Drums), Dave Harding (Bass), Dan Eccles (Guitar) & Paul Brainard (Pedal Steel & Trumpet). The album also features some contributions from some of Tucson’s many music luminaries such Calexico members Joey Burns, Nick Luca and Jacob Valenzuela. Howe Gelb even plays the piano on a track.

Richmond Fontaine are heading to Europe in February for an extensive tour. There is no word yet on another visit to Australia – the bands first tour here was in early 2006. Nonzero, the bands Australian label have not yet listed a date for the local release on “Thirteen Cities”


There is a great interview with Willy Vlautin on the altcountrytab website

Download from emusic

Richmond Fontaine


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s